

## North South University

# School of Business and Economics <u>Departmental Committees</u>, <u>Department of Economics</u>

(Updated on 22/8/2023: For Summer 2023 to Spring 2024)

## 1. Assessment and Curriculum Planning (ACPC) Committee

i.	Professor A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman	Advisor
ii.	Dr. Syed Mortuza Asif Ehsan	Lead Coordinator
iii.	Dr. Md. Syeed-Uz-Zaman Khan	Member
iv.	Dr. Javed Hossain	Member
v.	Dr. Ahmed Sadek Yousuf	Member
vi.	Ms. Mahnaz Aftabi Atique	Member
vii.	Dr. S. M. Nurul Alam (Adjunct faculty)	Member

### Responsibilities

viii.

• Keeping the curriculum updated as per UGC instructions

Dr. Md. Amir Hussain (Adjunct faculty)

• Determining the courses to be included in assessing student learning outcomes in the graduate and undergraduate programs.

Member

- Determining learning outcomes of the courses in consultation with course instructors
- Reviewing and revising student learning outcomes and rubrics
- Writing assessment reports at the end of each semester

## 2. Research Committee

i.	Dr. Syed Mortuza Asif Ehsan	Member
ii.	Dr. Tapas Kumar Paul	Member
 111.	Dr. Javed Hossain	Lead Coordinator
iv.	Dr. Rafayal Ahmed	Member
V.	Dr. Amin Masud Ali (Adjunct faculty)	Member

#### Responsibilities

- Undertaking a number of initiatives such as organizing periodical seminars (Brown Bag Seminar)
- Enhancing the research culture within the department
- Encouraging research collaboration and quality publications
- Supporting faculty members to attract internal and external grants.

## 3. Community Outreach Committee

i. Dr. Md. Sveed Uz Zaman Khan Lead	Coordinator
-------------------------------------	-------------

ii. Dr. Saima Khan Member

iii. Dr. Ahmed Sadek Yousuf Member

iii. Mr. Abdul Mumit Member

iv. Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui Member

v. Ms. Azreen Benazir Abdullah Member

#### Responsibilities

Encouraging and facilitating initiatives to increase faculty involvement with external stakeholders and vice versa (the industry, public and private institutions, non-profit sector, schools, universities etc.), thereby increasing faculty contribution to community service and furthering the impact and visibility of the department and programs.

## 4. Student Engagement Committee

i. Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury Lead Coordinator

ii. Dr. Kanti Ananta Nuzhat Member

iii. Ms. Mahnaz Aftabi Atique Member

iv. Ms. Raisa Afsana Member

v. Ms. Nazneen Imam Member (Add)

#### Responsibilities

- Enhancing student learning experience and development in the department.
- Identifying initiatives and organizing workshops and events aiming to improve student performance and skills as well as creating awareness and reputation for the department programs.

## 5. Logistics Committee

i. Dr. Kanti Ananta Nuzhat Lead Coordinator

ii. Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui Member

iii. Ms. Azreen Benazir Abdullah Member

#### Responsibilities

Maintaining various display boards on the Department Walls and keeping the notice boards current

## 6. Promotion & Tenure Committee (To be formed by Chairperson when needed)

## 7. Graduate Student Assessment Committee

i. Professor A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman Member

ii. Professor Gour Gobinda Goswami Member

iii. Dr. Asad Karim Khan Priyo Lead Coordinator

## **8. Course Coordinators**

i. ECO101: Introduction to Microeconomics: Dr. Syed Mortaza Asif Ehsan

ii. ECO104: Introduction to Macroeconomics: Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury

iii ECO 135: Applied Mathematics for Economics I: Dr. Kanti Ananta Nuzhat

iv. ECO 172: Introduction to Statistics: Ms. Raisa Afsana

v. ECO 173: Applied Statistics: Dr. Mainul Islam Chowdhury

vi. ECO 201: Intermediate Microeconomic Theory I: Dr. Syeed Uz Zaman Khan

vii. ECO 204: Intermediate Macroeconomic Theory I: Dr. A. K. M. Atiqur Rahman

viii. ECO245: Applied Mathematics for Economics II: Ms. Chowdhury Nawsheen Farooqui

ix. ECO 301: Intermediate Microeconomic Theory II: Dr. Rafayal Ahmed

x. ECO 372: Dr. Gour Gobinda Goswami